General submissions are open! 

NDR publishes a wide range of fiction, poetry, creative non-fiction, book reviews, and interviews. Please check out our genre editor statements for a better idea of what kind of work our editors are looking for.

All manuscripts must specify the author's name and email address. We welcome simultaneous submissions with prompt notification if your work is acceptance elsewhere, as well as submissions in multiple genres. Please provide contact information and a brief biography for all submissions, in addition to following each genre's individual guidelines. Current LSU students and faculty are not eligible for publication. 

As a journal we are committed to publishing underrepresented voices, and aim to foster diversity in our issues. Although we ask for a small fee for our general submissions, this fee helps us sustain and extend this practice into our community by hosting and supporting readings and other literary events.

All published work will be eligible for our Matt Clark Editors’ Choice Prizes in Prose and Poetry. The winners of the prize (one prose writer and one poet, selected from the fall and spring issues of the current academic year) will be chosen by the NDR staff and receive $250.

For the Ryan R. Gibbs Flash Fiction Contest, New Delta Review seeks fiction of around 1,000 words or less. We’re looking for complete arcs in concise packages, resonance over neat resolution, inimitable rhythms and propulsive movements, something a little (or very) dangerous. 


Judge: Lindsey Drager
Prize: $400 and publication in Issue 10.1 of New Delta Review
Deadline: October 23, 2019
Entry Fee: $5

About the contest:
This award is in honor of Ryan R. Gibbs (1981-2012), a gifted editor for New Delta Review, an incredible writer of fiction and screenplays, a talented photographer, and, above all, a dear friend. New Delta Review is honored to host this annual award, which was made possible by a generous endowment from his parents, in his name.

Additional Submission Guidelines:

  • All entries must be the original, previously unpublished work of the entrant.
  • Each entry must be accompanied by an entry fee.
  • Each entrant can submit a maximum of two stories per entry, each of which should be up to or around 1,000 words.
  • Each entrant can submit a maximum of two separate entries.
  • Submissions will first be read by the staff of New Delta Review, who will select the finalists. These works will be passed on to our judge.
  • Family, friends and previous students of the judge are ineligible for participation. Current students and faculty of LSU are also ineligible.

About this year's judge:

Lindsey Drager is the author of the novels The Sorrow Proper (Dzanc, 2015), The Lost Daughter Collective (Dzanc, 2017), and The Archive of Alternative Endings (Dzanc, 2019). Her work has won a John Gardner Fiction Prize and a Shirley Jackson Award. She is an assistant professor at the University of Utah.


For the Ryan R. Gibbs Photography Contest, New Delta Review seeks a series of 5-11 photographs to be featured in Issue 10.1. Together, the photographs should tell a story, or be centered on a unified theme of the artist’s choosing. This contest goes hand-in-hand with our flash fiction contest, which seeks a full narrative in 1,000 words or less.

Learn more about our journal here, and check out the stunning work of last year's winner here.

Judge: Elliott Jerome Brown Jr.
Prize: $400 and publication in the Issue 10.1 of New Delta Review
Deadline: November 11, 2019
Entry Fee: $5, free after November 4, 2019

Additional Submission Guidelines

  • All entries must be previously unpublished and original work of the entrant.
  • All work must be submitted through our electronic system.
  • Send only high quality med-res JPG files.
  • Please submit 5-11 photographs as JPG or as a single zip file. 
  • Submissions will first be reviewed by our Editor and Art Director, and finalists will be passed on for judging.
  • Family, friends, and previous students of the judge are ineligible for participation in the contest. In addition, students currently enrolled at Louisiana State University and faculty members at Louisiana State University are ineligible for participation in this contest.
  • If you have any problems submitting, please send an email to newdeltarev@gmail.com.

 About the contest: This award is in honor of Ryan R. Gibbs (1981-2012), a gifted editor for New Delta Review, an incredible writer of fiction and screenplays, a talented photographer, and, above all, a dear friend. New Delta Review is honored to host this annual award, which was made possible by a generous endowment from his parents, in his name.

 

Ends on April 15, 2020$3.00
$3.00

We publish fiction of wildly different styles and modes. While we tend to gravitate toward the weirder side of things, our aesthetic is always in flux and this dynamism is exciting to us. We enjoy stories with or without plots, but, either way, we're looking for complete fictions, ones with an arc, an atmosphere, a heart, preferably with blood. Novel excerpts are fine as long as they're self-contained: if it needs a summary to make sense, it's not for us. Please check out what we've published in the past; current and back issues are available for free, right here, on the internet. 

While we do occasionally publish longer pieces, we prefer our stories to come in at around 3,000 words. We also have a special interest in flash fiction, and brief series of flash pieces.


Ends on April 15, 2020$3.00
$3.00

We would like you to challenge traditional notions of lyricism, or avoid the lyric altogether. Stricter forms are fine, but we tend to prefer them corrupted. Embrace the radical, the political, the bizarre, but do so with purpose. Five poems max, please and thank you. 

Ends on April 15, 2020$3.00
$3.00

We are looking for experimental essays that explore personal experiences, that engage the reader on both an affective and intellectual level. We enjoy work that celebrates the genre's complexity by pairing compelling content with innovative structure. We want to see you exploring ­­­­­­and questioning through your work, so that readers can experience the journey alongside you. Though we're generally less fond of travel writing, we want to be taken somewhere, with ambience and texture and resonance. Questions are as valuable as answers—show us your vulnerability. While we do occasionally publish longer essays, we prefer submissions of around 3,000 words or less.


Ends on April 15, 2020$3.00
$3.00

We consider artwork in all media—from traditional (painting, drawing, photography, installation/sculpture) to new media (video, animation, and hypertext). Please consider our online format, and the possibilities of art on the web, when submitting your work. We want art that works with or around the limits that our online platform offers. Please see our past photography contest winners and the cover art featured in our back issues for a sense of our evolving aesthetic. We strive to push against traditional concepts and forms; send us your wildest and most challenging pieces.

For image submissions, please attach med-res JPGS (no larger than 4MB). For video/new media submissions, links are acceptable.

If you are sending new media artwork, bear in mind that we will link it from this website, which is somewhat limited in its ability to host microsites and large media files. This may require hosting your work on a third party site.

Ends on April 15, 2020$3.00
$3.00

NDR’s digital media category is intended for works that use language, in its broadest terms, to push the boundaries of writing and genre. Possible forms could include:

  • video-texts
  • sound-texts
  • performance pieces
  • the documentation of installation poems
  • visual/concrete poems
  • collage with text
  • comics
  • interactive writing
  • anything else that challenges the borders of medium and genre or might not otherwise be able to be published in a print magazine.

Links to any video projects, interactive media or other can be added in lieu of uploading unruly media.

Ends on April 15, 2020$3.00
$3.00

Genre can be a bummer. We feel you. We'd love to see works playing with multiple genres and disciplines, along with ones that resist categorization entirely. Break some ground. Make it explode. 

Submissions of 3,000 words or under are preferred, but we'll also consider longer works if the length seems integral.

New Delta Review invites currently incarcerated writers to submit their writing for free, at any time during reading periods. This applies to both general submissions and to all contests. 

Either submit below, including contact information, or mail us at: 

New Delta Review, LSU English Department, 15 Allen Hall, Baton Rouge LA 70803

NDR: New Delta Review